Reflection

There is a certain stigmatisation behind mental health issues which needs to be addressed. I believe this stigmatisation is due to a few different factors including a lack of knowledge surrounding these issues. I’ve chosen to address the issue of depression in my audio piece. But how does this convey ‘place’. My personal past experiences, combined with that of close friends has lead me to conclude that depression itself, is a place one goes to in their mind. This place, has it’s own set of sounds, including both negative an positive. In communicating this place, I will enlist the help of a close friend with diagnosed depression.I will put together various sound bites, including sounds in which lessen the effect her depression, as well as have her explaining the overall tone and mood of that place in her mind. 

Leave a Reply

